fearoftrains

save me jeebus!
2002-03-26

nyah!

so much crap coming at me, all flashflashflash, all noise and no substance. i am wallowing in my own messy stuff, i am inarticulate and i can't type anymore. all i can think of is art, art, art. nothing is coming up about this thesis thing, no information that makes me want to open that dreaded file and start to write.

today i recieved good news. my mother has given her blessing - she and the dad will support me 'wholeheartedly' should i decide to go to art school... i am reading 'wholeheartedly' as 'go for it, but we ain't paying', which is what was to be expected. i am not willing to beg anymore.

so i will go to school in chicago (my favorite place in the world, by the way), live on my sister's couch, and attend class 9-5 for three weeks. hopefully i will also see good shows and not starve. oh gawd it's hot in chicago in the summer, but there are mango vendors and corn vendors and adult 50 cent soft-serve (they come at 9pm!)...

here is where i feel the need to justify myself. i need to prove to everyone that i can art. that is, i can fabricate an object that i want to fabricate, assuming that the materials are present. ahhh, materials. so these photos are of my more recent work. the word scarf was for a class. the words are embroidered, the scarf can snap together at different places. the other set-up was for an art week thang on campus - there is a wood/plexi box with light-up shelves for my daguerreotypes (old-ass photos), plus the large, scanned and printed daguerreotype images themselves. so purdy, no?

diaryland learn a little archive newest bestest! one of the best things in the world good friend!