fearoftrains

a resume isn't enough
2003-03-05

sounds: classic rock

at work... bored out of mind and body. i think if i could grow a beard i would do it, just to see what it would feel like.

the other day, i spoke with a man who came into the store. he was nice enough, and asked me questions about my education, future plans, etc. nice chit-chat. he told me about how he graduated from school as one thing (can't remember) and ended up an architect, reassuring me that my transition from psychology to art was a possible one, such things happen all the time, etc. then he tells me about this financial guy, really brilliant, who has lots of ideas for people starting businesses, etc. he asks me if i would like to listen to these tapes that he has, of interviews with this financial marvel. i agree to borrow the tapes, not sure what this means, waiting for him to start selling me something. honestly, i hoped and prayed as we were talking that he would offer me a job as an architectural assistant of some kind. like being discovered for hollywood, my sculptural career would begin from the lowly counters of a mail boxes etc. oh, the glory.

at any rate, he did not offer me a job, but he did lend me these tapes. that was saturday, i think, and he said he would come by wednesday to get the tapes. today is wednesday. he called today, and i humbly admitted that i had only listened to one of the tapes, when in reality i haven't listened to either of them. so he said friday, he'll come by friday.

what do i do? i am not very receptive to things 'on tape', and don't imagine that my life will be transformed by these two cassettes. but for some reason i am a little afraid to listen. have you seen the movie 'the ring'?? if so, you understand my paranoia, as unfounded as it may be.

so, i have a couple of days to listen to the tapes. at the least, i want to be able to look this guy in the eyes and tell him they didn't help me (or did, who knows), rather than lie to him. he seemed nice enough. and he might still give me a really good job.(now i am starting to sound insane).

it's four o'clock and i am wearing a polo shirt and a name tag and i would rather be mowing a lawn or shoveling snow. i would rather be designing something or eating pie.

but no. it's wednesday, so emily will be freaking about going to craft night. i am looking forward to the opportunity to make her a 'queen of the obvious' crown. 'cause that's what friends are for.

diaryland learn a little archive newest bestest! one of the best things in the world good friend!